# Hearing Aid Specialist Application for Examination



Board of Hearing Aid Specialists P.O. Box 6330

Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330

Website: www.floridashearingaidspecialists.gov

Email: MQA.HearingAid@flhealth.gov

Phone: (850) 245-4292 Fax: (850) 413-6982







Are you an active-duty member of the United States Armed Services?

Are you a veteran of the United States Armed Services?

Are you the spouse of a veteran of the United States Armed Services?

Are you the spouse of an active member of the United States Armed Services?

If you answered "Yes" to any of these questions, you may qualify for a reduction in your application fees. You can find information about the Florida Department of Health's commitment to serving members and veterans of the United States Armed Forces and their families online at

http://www.flhealthsource.gov/valor.





#### Hearing Aid Specialist Application for Examination

Board of Hearing Aid Specialists P.O. Box 6330 Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330 Fax: (850) 413-6982

Email: MQA.HearingAid@flhealth.gov

Do Not Write in this Space For Revenue Receipting Only

Select only **one** method of application (3601):

**Hearing Aid Specialist Licensure** (1021)

\$475.00

For applicants who are NBC-HIS Board-Certified or who have already passed the International Licensing Examination (ILE) in another state

Total fee of \$475.00 includes the following:

Application Fee \$150.00 Initial Licensure Fee \$320.00 Unlicensed Activity Fee \$5.00

Application for Licensure and Exam (1010) \$150.0

\$150.00 (Application Fee Only)

Re-examination (1011)

\$150.00 (Application Fee Only)

Fees must be paid in the form of a cashier's check or money order, made payable to the Department of Health. An applicant who is denied licensure or withdraws their application is entitled to a \$325.00 (Initial Licensure Fee and Unlicensed Activity Fee) refund. **The \$150.00 Application Fee is non-refundable.** Requests to withdraw or for a refund must be made in writing. Fees are refundable for up to three years from the date of receipt.

#### 1. PERSONAL INFORMATION

Name:	.ast/Surname		First		Middle	Date of Birth:	MM/DD/YYYY
Mailing A	ddress: (The	address wh	ere mail and your li	cense should l	pe sent)		
Street/P.C	). Box				Apt. No.	City	
State			ZIP	Country		Home/Cell Telephone	
Practice I	_ocation: (Re	equired if ma	iling address is a P	.O. Box- This a	address will b	e posted on the Department o	f Health's website
Street					Apt. No.	City	
State			ZIP	Country		Work/Cell Telephone	
We are re Uniform G	uidelines on l	that you furr Employee Se	election Procedure	(1978); 43 FR I does not in ar or Pacific Islar	38295 and 3 ny way affect nder I	luntary compliance with 41 CF 8296 (August 25, 1978). This i your candidacy for licensure. Hispanic or Latino Black or African American	
ne provided		se to be notif		oplication by er		ne "Yes" box and fill in your em ng your email regularly and up	
Ye	6	No E	mail Address:				
						address released in responsed contact the office by phone of	

#### 2. SOCIAL SECURITY DISCLOSURE

#### This information is exempt from public records disclosure.

Pursuant to Title 42 United States Code § 666(a)(13), the department is required and authorized to collect Social Security numbers relating to applications for professional licensure. Additionally, section (s.) 456.013(1)(a), Florida Statutes, authorizes the collection of Social Security numbers as part of the general licensing provisions.

Last Name:	
First Name:	 
Middle Name:	 
U.S. Social Security Number:	 

**Social Security Information-**\* Under the Federal Privacy Act, disclosure of Social Security numbers is voluntary unless specifically required by federal statute. In this instance, Social Security numbers are mandatory pursuant to Title 42 United States Code § 653 and 654; and s. 456.013(1), 409.2577, and 409.2598, Florida Statutes. Social Security numbers are used to allow efficient screening of applicants and licensees by a Title IV-D child support agency to ensure compliance with child support obligations. Social Security numbers must also be recorded on all professional and occupational license applications and will be used for license identification pursuant to Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (Welfare Reform Act. 104 Pub. L. Section 317). Clarification of the SSA process may be reviewed at www.ssa.gov or by calling 1-800-772-1213.

Name:	

#### 3. ELIGIBILITY DATA

Applicants for re-examination are not required to complete this section.

Indicate the method by which you qualify for hearing aid specialist examination/licensure. Select only or					
I. NBC-HIS Board Certification or passed the ILE   II. Florida Training Program					
III. Licensed in another state without National Board Certification					

Provide the requested information/documentation <u>only</u> in the section below that corresponds to the method by which you qualify.

- I. NBC-HIS Board Certification or passed the ILE Requirements for licensure eligibility
  - A. Are you currently NBC-HIS Board-Certified or have you already passed the ILE for Hearing Healthcare Professionals in another state, <u>and</u> have actively practiced for 12 months? Yes No

If "No," you are ineligible to apply by this method. If "Yes," you must provide the following:

**Proof of active practice:** Submit **two contracts per month** for at least 12 months during which you were actively practicing as a hearing aid specialist or its equivalent. The applicant must provide at least **two sales receipts per month** with each receipt bearing the applicant's signature and address of place(s) of business. For privacy purposes, the client's last name may be omitted on the contracts/receipts.

**Proof of current certification:** Contact the National Board for Certification in Hearing Instrument Sciences and request proof of current NBC-HIS Board Certification be sent directly to the board office.

- II. Florida Training Program Requirements for examination eligibility
  - A. Have you completed a Florida Hearing Aid Specialist Training Program, pursuant to Rule 64B6-8.003, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.)? Yes No
  - B. Trainee Registration Number:

Applicants who have completed a Florida Training Program must submit the two-page **Sponsor Report Form** found at the end of this application, **completed and signed by the approved sponsor.** 

- III. Licensed in another state without NBC-HIS Board Certification Requirements for examination eligibility
  - A. Do you hold a valid, current license as a hearing aid specialist or equivalent in another state, and actively practiced in such capacity for at least 12 months? Yes No

If "No," you are ineligible to apply by this method. If "Yes," you must provide the following:

B. List the **active hearing aid specialist or equivalent license** from the state(s) in which you have actively practiced for at least 12 months.

License Type	License #	State/Country	Original Date Issued (MM/DD/YYYY)	Expiration Date (MM/DD/YYYY)	Status of License

Submit a License Verification form to each state in which you hold an active license as a hearing aid specialist or equivalent. License verifications must be received directly from the licensing authority. A copy of your license will not be accepted in lieu of official verification from the licensing agency.

**Proof of active practice:** Submit **two contracts per month** for at least 12 months during which you were actively practicing as a hearing aid specialist or its equivalent. The applicant must provide at least **two sales receipts per month** with each receipt bearing the applicant's signature and address of place(s) of business. For privacy purposes, the client's last name may be omitted on the contracts/receipts.

Eli	gibi	lity Informatio	<u>on</u>				
exa a c	oplicants without National Board Certification are required to sit for the International Hearing Society (IHS) amination. The application and all required supporting documentation must be received before the board can make determination on eligibility for examination. Once determined eligible, applicants will receive an email from the IHS th instructions to create an account and schedule the examination. The IHS examination fee is \$225.00.						
	eliç il to	-	entation should	be submitted to the	board office at MQ	A.HearingAid@fll	<u>nealth.gov</u> , or by
				Board of Hearing	Aid Specialists		
				4052 Bald Cypres	-		
				Tallahassee, F	•		
4.	AF	PPLICANT BAC	CKGROUND				
	A.	List any other	name(s) by whic	ch you have been kno	wn in the past. Attac	h additional sheets	s if necessary.
	В.	Are you 18 ye	ears of age or old	er? Yes No			
		Proof of age	: Submit a copy o	of either your <b>driver's</b>	license or birth cer	tificate.	
	C.	Do you hold, license(s)?	or have you ever Yes No	held a license to prac	ctice as a hearing aic	specialist or any o	other health-related
	D.	List all health	-related licenses	(active, inactive, or la	psed), <b>unless provi</b>	ded on page 5.	
	L	icense Type	License #	State/Country	Original Date Issued (MM/DD/YYYY)	Expiration Date (MM/DD/YYYY)	Status of License
				n form to <b>ALL</b> state(s) ardless of the status o			
				n the licensing agenc		, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,	
	E.		any applications t territory, or foreig	for licensure as a hea gn country? Yes	ring aid specialist cu No	rrently pending in a	any state (including
	F.	List all pendir	ng applications for	r licensure as a hearir	ng aid specialist.		

Name:

License Type

State/Country

Name:	

#### 5. AVAILABILITY FOR DISASTER

Would you be willing to provide health services in special needs shelters or to help staff disaster medical assistance teams during times of emergency or major disaster? Yes No

If you respond "Yes," your name will be added to a listing that is available to the Department of Health if a disaster is declared. If you live in an area where you may be able to help you will be called on if needed.

#### 6. EDUCATION HISTORY

- A. Have you earned a high school diploma or equivalent? Yes No
- B. Provide the following information about your high school or equivalent:

School Name	School Address	Graduation Date (MM/DD/YYYY)	Degree Awa	arded
			Diploma	GED

Include a **photocopy of your high school diploma or equivalency certificate** as proof of graduation. A **college transcript of a completed associate or higher degree** may also be accepted as proof.

C. Have you completed an approved two-hour Florida Laws and Rules course relating to the fitting and dispensing of prescription hearing aids? Yes No

If you have not completed this course, you can find information on the course at www.cebroker.com.

Supporting documentation not submitted with the application must be sent to the board office via the online upload system at <a href="https://mqaonline.doh.state.fl.us/datamart/voservicesportal/">https://mqaonline.doh.state.fl.us/datamart/voservicesportal/</a>, email to <a href="mailto:mQA.HearingAid@flhealth.gov">MQA.HearingAid@flhealth.gov</a>, or by mail to:

**Board** *of* **Hearing Aid Specialists** 4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin C-08 Tallahassee, FL 32399-3257

Name:	

#### This information is exempt from public records disclosure.

#### 7. HEALTH HISTORY

#### Physical and Mental Health Disorders Impacting Ability to Practice

- A. During the last two years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed physical or mental disorder that impaired or would impair your ability to practice? Yes No
- B. In the last two years, have you been admitted or referred to a hospital, facility or impaired practitioner program for treatment of a diagnosed mental or physical disorder that impaired your ability to practice? Yes No

#### **Substance-Related Disorders Impacting Ability to Practice**

- C. During the last five years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed substance-related (alcohol or drug) disorder that impaired or would impair your ability to practice? Yes No
- D. During the last five years, were you admitted or directed into a program for the treatment of a diagnosed substance-related (alcohol or drug) disorder or, if you were previously in such a program, did you suffer a relapse? Yes No
- E. During the last five years, have you been enrolled in, required to enter, or participated in any substance-related (alcohol or drug) recovery program or impaired practitioner program for treatment of drug or alcohol abuse? Yes No

If a "Yes" response was provided to any of the questions in this section, provide the following documents directly to the board office:

A letter from a Licensed Health Care Practitioner, who is qualified by skill and training to address the condition identified, which explains the impact the condition may have on the ability to practice the profession with reasonable skill and safety. The letter must specify that the applicant is safe to practice the profession without restrictions or specifically indicate the restrictions that are necessary. Documentation provided must be dated within one year of the application date.

A written self-explanation, identifying the medical condition(s) or occurrence(s); and current status.

#### 8. DISCIPLINE HISTORY

- A. Have you ever been denied licensure, certification, or registration for the dispensing of prescription hearing aids or any health-related profession or the renewal thereof in any state? Yes No
- B. Have you ever been denied the right to take a Hearing Aid Specialist licensure examination? Yes No
- C. Have you ever had a license to practice any profession revoked, suspended, or otherwise acted against in a disciplinary proceeding in any state? Yes No
- D. Are you now or have you ever been a defendant in civil litigation in which the basis of the complaint against you was alleged negligence, malpractice, or lack of professional competence?

  Yes

  No
- E. Is there currently pending, in any jurisdiction, a complaint or investigation against your professional conduct or competency? Yes No

If you responded "Yes" to any of the questions in this section, complete the following:

Name of Agency	State	Action Date (MM/DD/YYYY)	Final Action		Under Appeal?	
				Υ	N	
				Υ	N	
				Y	N	
				Υ	N	

If you responded "Yes" to any of the questions in this section, you must provide the following:

A written self-explanation, describing in detail the circumstances surrounding the disciplinary action.

A copy of the **Administrative Complaint** and **Final Order**.

#### 9. CRIMINAL HISTORY

Have you ever been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or no contest to any crime in any jurisdiction other than a minor traffic offense? You must include all misdemeanors and felonies, even if adjudication was withheld.

Reckless driving, driving while license suspended or revoked (DWLSR), driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI) are not minor traffic offenses for purposes of this question. Yes No

If you responded "Yes," complete the following:

	Offense	Jurisdiction	Date (MM/DD/YYYY)	Final Disposition	Under Appeal?	
Ī					Υ	N
					Υ	N
Ī					Y	N

If you responded "Yes" in this section, you must provide the following:

**A written self-explanation**, describing in detail the circumstances surrounding each offense; including dates, city and state, charges, and final results.

**Final Dispositions** and **Arrest Records** for all offenses. The Clerk of the Court in the arresting jurisdiction will provide you with these documents. Unavailability of these documents must come in the form of a letter from the Clerk of the Court.

**Completion of Sentence Documents**. You may obtain documents from the Department of Corrections. The report must include the start date, end date, and that the conditions were met.

	Name:
10. 0	CRIMINAL AND MEDICAID / MEDICARE FRAUD QUESTIONS
ı	IMPORTANT NOTICE: Applicants for licensure, certification, or registration and candidates for examination may

**IMPORTANT NOTICE:** Applicants for licensure, certification, or registration and candidates for examination may be excluded from licensure, certification, or registration if their felony convictions fall into certain timeframes as established in s. 456.0635(2), Florida Statutes.

1. Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, regardless of adjudication, to a felony under chapter (ch.) 409, Florida Statutes (relating to social and economic assistance), ch. 817, Florida Statutes (relating to fraudulent practices), ch. 893, Florida Statutes (relating to drug abuse prevention and control), or a similar felony offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction? Yes No

#### If you responded "No" to the question above, skip to question 2.

- a. If "Yes" to 1, for the felonies of the first or second degree, has it been more than 15 years from the date of the plea, sentence, and completion of any subsequent probation? Yes No
- b. If "Yes" to 1, for the felonies of the third degree, has it been more than 10 years from the date of the plea, sentence, and completion of subsequent probation (this question does not apply to felonies of the third degree under s. 893.13(6)(a), Florida Statutes)? Yes No
- If "Yes" to 1, for the felonies of the third degree under s. 893.13(6)(a), Florida Statutes, has it been more than five years from the date of the plea, sentence, and completion of any subsequent probation?
   Yes
- d. If "Yes" to 1, have you successfully completed a drug court program that resulted in the plea for the felony offense being withdrawn or the charges dismissed (if "Yes," provide supporting documentation)?
  Yes
  No
- 2. Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, to a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to public health, welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues)? Yes No

#### If you responded "No" to the question above, skip to question 3.

- a. If "Yes" to 2, has it been more than 15 years before the date of application since the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended? Yes No
- 3. Have you ever been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid Program pursuant to s. 409.913, Florida Statutes? Yes No

#### If you responded "No" to the question above, skip to question 4.

- a. If you have been terminated but reinstated, have you been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid Program for the most recent five years? Yes No
- 4. Have you ever been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state, from any other state Medicaid program? Yes No

#### If you responded "No" to the question above, skip to question 5.

- Have you been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five years?
   Yes
   No
- b. Did termination occur at least 20 years before the date of this application? Yes No

	applicant listed because the individual defaulted or is delinquent on a student loan? Yes No	
	If "Yes" to 5.a., is the student loan default or delinquency the only reason the individual is listed on the LEIE? Yes No	
If you re	esponded "Yes" to any of the questions in this section, you must provide the following:	
	A written explanation for each question including the county and state of each termination or convictio date of each termination or conviction, and copies of supporting documentation.	n,
	Supporting documentation including court dispositions or agency orders where applicable.	
	entation for sections 7, 8, 9, and 10 must be sent to the board office via the online upload system://mgaonline.doh.state.fl.us/datamart/voservicesportal/, email to MQA.HearingAid@flhealth.gov, to:	
	Board of Hearing Aid Specialists	
	4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin C-08	
	Tallahassee, FL 32399-3257	
11. APPLIC	ANT SIGNATURE	
	ANT SIGNATURE  signed, state that I am the person identified in this application for licensure in the state of Florida.	
I, the unders		
I, the unders I recognize t pursuant to s Florida law r stated in the	signed, state that I am the person identified in this application for licensure in the state of Florida.  hat providing false information may result in disciplinary action against my license or criminal penalties	i
I, the unders I recognize to pursuant to s Florida law restated in the to suppleme I hereby ack understand to	signed, state that I am the person identified in this application for licensure in the state of Florida.  hat providing false information may result in disciplinary action against my license or criminal penalties s. 456.067, Florida Statutes.  equires me to immediately inform the board of any material change in any circumstances or condition application which takes place between the initial filing and the final granting or denial of the license and	i
I, the unders I recognize to pursuant to s Florida law restated in the to suppleme I hereby ack understand to Florida Status Section 456.	bigned, state that I am the person identified in this application for licensure in the state of Florida.  That providing false information may result in disciplinary action against my license or criminal penalties is. 456.067, Florida Statutes.  The equires me to immediately inform the board of any material change in any circumstances or condition application which takes place between the initial filing and the final granting or denial of the license and the information on this application as needed.  The equires me to immediately inform the board of any material change in any circumstances or condition application which takes place between the initial filing and the final granting or denial of the license and the information on this application as needed.  The equires me to immediately inform the board of any changes to ch. 456 and 484, Part II, that I am under a continuing obligation to keep informed of any changes to ch. 456 and 484, Part II,	
I, the unders I recognize to pursuant to s Florida law restated in the to suppleme I hereby ack understand to Florida Status Section 456.	hat providing false information may result in disciplinary action against my license or criminal penalties s. 456.067, Florida Statutes.  equires me to immediately inform the board of any material change in any circumstances or condition application which takes place between the initial filing and the final granting or denial of the license and nt the information on this application as needed.  nowledge that I have read the regulations in ch. 484, Part II, Florida Statutes and ch. 64B6, F.A.C. I that I am under a continuing obligation to keep informed of any changes to ch. 456 and 484, Part II, sites, and ch. 64B6, F.A.C.  013(1)(a), Florida Statutes, provides that an incomplete application shall expire one year after the initial endepartment.	

Name:

No

5. Is the applicant or any principal, officer, agent, managing employee, or affiliated person of the applicant currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services' Office of the Inspector

General's List of Excluded Individuals and Entities (LEIE)?

Complete forms must be submitted directly by the sponsor through email at MQA.HearingAid@flhealth.gov, fax at (850) 413-6982, or mail at:

#### Board of Hearing Aid Specialists

4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin C-08 Tallahassee, FL 32399-3257

Select report type:

## Board of Hearing Aid Specialists Training Program Sponsor Report Form Page 1 of 2

## THE ARING AID SPECIALISTS THE ARING AID SPECIAL

#### Sponsor must complete and submit both pages of this form

Pursuant to Rule 64B6-8, F.A.C., the sponsor must complete and mail this form to the board office within 30 days after the end of the reporting period or date of termination. Until the board has received this form, the trainee will not receive credit for weeks worked, or be allowed to sit for the examination.

#### If the trainee is transferring to another sponsor, this falls under termination. Final Report **Termination Report** If applicable, provide the date the supervision of trainee was terminated or will terminate: 1. TRAINEE INFORMATION Street and Number City State 7IP Is address new? Yes No Work Telephone Number: \_\_\_\_\_ Trainee Program Number: \_\_\_\_\_ 2. REPORTING/TERMINATING SPONSOR INFORMATION Sponsor Name: Business Address: \_\_\_\_ Street and Number City State Telephone Number: Sponsor License Number: 3. TRAINING OBJECTIVES A. List the educational and training objectives, pursuant to Rule 64B6-8.003(3), Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.): B. List hours set by the sponsor for the trainee, pursuant to Rule 64B6-8.003(3), F.A.C.:

#### Page 2 of 2

1 1130 2 0)		
Name:		
4. TRAIN	ING INFORMATION	
Program (	dates: From: To:	FLORIDA
. rogiani	dates: From: To:	* * *
Total num	ber of training <u>weeks</u> completed:	
	e type of training received during this program and the number of training hours red 4B6-8.003(3), F.A.C.	eived, pursuant
✓	Required Training Subject Areas	# of Training Hours
	Part II, ch. 484, Florida Statutes, and Rule ch. 64B6, F.A.C.	
	Physics of Sound	
	Anatomy of the Outer, Middle, and Inner Ear	
	Hearing Disorders:	
	Conductive Hearing Loss: Diseases of the Ear	
	Sensorineural Hearing Loss	
	Mixed Hearing Loss	
	Central Deafness Hearing Loss	
	Psychological Hearing Loss	
	Criteria for Medical Referral	
	Pure Tone Audiometry	
	Masking and its Application when utilized with Pure Tone Audiometry: Rationales; Methods; Techniques	
	Speech Audiometry	
	Masking and its Application when utilized with Speech Audiometry	
	Sound Field Testing	
	Audiogram Analysis and Interpretation	
	Proper Ear/Ears Selection; Hearing Instrument Selection: (Evaluating Fitting Criteria)	
	CROS/Bi-CROS: Rationale and its Application	
	Prescription Hearing Aid Measurements	
	Interpretation of Hearing Instruments Specification Data	
	Impression Technique	
	Earmolds; Shell Design; and their Effect on Frequency Response	
	Types of Hearing Instruments; Major Components; Function	
	Clients Counseling and Delivery as it pertains to prescription Hearing Aid usage and care for optimum performance	
Trainee Name: Trainee Program Number:		
Trainee S	ignature: Date: MM/DD/Y	
	MM/DD/Y	YYY
Sponsor I	Name: Sponsor License Number: _	
Sponsor S	Signature: Date:	

MM/DD/YYYY

HEARING AID SPE

Complete verifications must be submitted directly from the licensing agency through email at MQA.HearingAid@flhealth.gov, fax at (850) 413-6982, or mail at:

#### Board of Hearing Aid Specialists

4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin C-08 Tallahassee, FL 32399-3257

licenses.)

### Board of Hearing Aid Specialists





Name:	
Address:	
Name original license was issued under:	
License Number:	State:
I hereby authorize release of any information Specialists.	on regarding my licensure status to the Florida Board of Hearing Aid
Applicant Signature:	Date: MM/DD/YYYY

#### Part II: To be completed by state licensing agency

All verifications must be in English and include the following criteria:

- Typed on an official state form or letterhead
- Include an official board seal
- Signature and title of state board official

The following information must be included in all verifications:

Licensee name

- \* License number
- \* State or jurisdiction of licensure

- Licensure status
- \* Is license in good standing?
- Date of issuance/expiration
- Licensure method (examination, grandfathering, reciprocity/endorsement) If exam, provide exam name, exam level, exam date and score achieved.
- Has this license ever been encumbered (denied, revoked, suspended, surrendered, limited, placed on probation)?
- If this license has ever been encumbered, please provide certified copies of documentation regarding the action with the completed license verification.