Hearing Aid Specialists


Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for Hearing Aid Specialists.

The Department shall license each applicant who the board certifies:

  • Has completed the application form and remitted the required fees
  • Is 18 years of age
  • Is a graduate of an accredited high school or its equivalent
  • Meets one of the qualifying methods below:
    • Has met the requirements of a Florida sponsored training program; or
    • Has a valid, current license as a hearing aid specialist or its equivalent from another state and has been actively practicing (as described in s. 64B6-2.002, F.A.C.) in such capacity for at least 12 months of the 18 months immediately preceding the application; or
    • Is currently certified by the National Board for Certification in Hearing Instrument Sciences and has been actively practicing (as described in s. 64B6-2.002, F.A.C.) for at least 12 months of the 18 months immediately preceding the application
  • Has passed the licensure examination, which is the International Licensing Examination (ILE-HID) for the Hearing Instrument Dispenser.
  • Has submitted proof of taking a two-hour course relating to Florida Laws and Rules taught by an instructor approved by the Florida Board of Hearing Aid Specialists or its designee.

If licensed in another state, territory, or jurisdiction of the United States, must have license verification form sent directly to the Board office from that office that issued the license or certification.

Application - Florida Training Program Participants

Applicants who have completed the Florida Training Program, pursuant to Rule 64B6-8.003, F.A.C., and are seeking examination approval shall complete the following:

  1. Apply for licensure by examination. Submit a completed Application for Licensure by Examination form and pay licensure fees.
  2. Submit proof of minimum age requirement. Provide a copy of either a driver’s license or birth certificate demonstrating the applicant is at least 18 years old.
  3. Submit proof of education. Provide ONE of the following forms of verification of completion of a high school diploma or equivalent:
    1. Copy of high school transcript with graduation date; OR
    2. Copy of diploma; OR
    3. Copy of transcripts from a completed associate’s or higher degree; OR
    4. Copy of GED certificate.
  4. Submit Sponsor Report Form(s). The Sponsor Report Form shall be completed and signed by the approved Sponsor. Refer to Rule 64B6-8.003, F.A.C. for additional information regarding supervision during the Training Program.
  5. Complete Florida Laws and Rules course. Submit proof of completion of a 2-hour Florida Laws and Rules course. Course must be delivered by a board-approved provider listed on CE Broker.
  6. Request License Certification or Verification (if applicable). Applicants who hold or have ever held a license in another state, U.S. territory, or foreign country; no matter the status are required to provide verification of licensure. A copy of the online verification is acceptable if current and provides disciplinary history status.
  7. Examination Eligibility Notification. Once the application is deemed complete, the applicant and the International Hearing Society (IHS) are notified that the candidate has become examination eligible. The candidate will receive registration information and instructions for the examination from IHS.
  8. Examination Completion: Once the applicant completes licensure examination, the results are provided within 2-4 weeks following the examination.
  9. Licensure Eligibility Notification: Upon receipt of successful examination completion, the Board office will notify the applicant of eligibility for licensure. The applicant will complete the Initial Licensure Application and submit the required fees. Once the licensure application and fee are received by the Board office, the licensee will be issued a license and mailed the approval letter and license within 7-10 business days.
  10. Applicants who do not successfully pass the examination will be notified.

Application – Licensed as Hearing Aid Specialist or Equivalent and Actively Practicing

Applicants who have been actively practicing in another state for at least 12 of the past 18 months and possess a current National Board Certification shall complete the following: 

  1. Apply for licensure by examination. Submit a completed Application for Licensure by Examination form and pay licensure fees
  2. Submit copies of Sales receipts. The applicant must submit copies of 2 sales receipts per month for 12 of the last 18 months immediately preceding the application. The applicant’s signature must be clearly visible, but for privacy purposes, the client’s last name may be redacted. If receipts are not available, a written statement from the applicant’s previous employer that the applicant was employed and had an average of 2 sales per month, as evidenced by receipts, is an acceptable alternative.
  3. Submit proof of minimum age requirement. Provide a copy of either a driver’s license or birth certificate demonstrating the applicant is at least 18 years old.
  4. Submit proof of education. Provide ONE of the following forms of verification
    of completion of a high school diploma or equivalent:

    1. Copy of high school transcript with graduation date; OR
    2. Copy of diploma; OR
    3. Copy of transcripts from a completed associate’s or higher degree; OR
    4. Copy of GED certificate.
  5. Complete Florida Laws and Rules course. Submit proof of completion of a 2-hour Florida Laws and Rules course. Course must be delivered by a board-approved provider listed on CE Broker
  6. Request License Certification or Verification. Applicants who hold or have ever held a license in another state, U.S. territory, or foreign country; no matter the status are required to provide verification of licensure. A copy of the online verification is acceptable if current and provides disciplinary history status.
  7. Examination Eligibility Notification. Once the application is deemed complete, the applicant and the International Hearing Society (IHS) are notified that the candidate has become examination eligible. The candidate will receive registration information and instructions for the examination from IHS.
  8. Examination Completion: Once the applicant completes licensure examination, the results are provided within 2-4 weeks following the examination.
  9. Licensure Eligibility Notification: Upon receipt of successful examination completion, the Board office will notify the applicant of eligibility for licensure. The applicant will complete the Initial Licensure Application and submit the required fees. Once the licensure application and fee are received by the Board office, the licensee will be issued a license and mailed the approval letter and license within 7-10 business days.
  10. Applicants who do not successfully pass the examination will be notified.

Application – Nationally Board Certified and Actively Practicing

Applicants who have been actively practicing in another state for at least 12 of the past 18 months and do not possess National Board Certification shall complete the following. If attempting to obtain examination approval and have never been a trainee in Florida, apply via this method.

  1. Apply for licensure by examination. Submit a completed Application for Licensure by Examination form and pay licensure fees.
  2. Submit copies of Sales receipts. Applicant must submit at least two sales receipts per month for twelve (12) of the eighteen (18) months immediately preceding the application, each receipt bearing the applicant’s signature and address of place(s) of business. The applicant’s signature must be clearly visible, but for privacy purposes, the client’s last name may be redacted. If receipts are not available, a written statement from the applicant’s previous employer that the applicant was employed and had an average of 2 sales per month, as evidenced by receipts, is an acceptable alternative.
  3. Submit proof of minimum age requirement. Provide a copy of either a driver’s license or birth certificate demonstrating the applicant is at least 18 years old.
  4. Submit proof of education. Provide ONE of the following forms of verification of completion of a high school diploma or equivalent:
    1. Copy of high school transcript with graduation date; OR
    2. Copy of diploma; OR
    3. Copy of transcripts from an associate’s or higher degree; OR
    4. Copy of GED certificate.
  5. Complete Florida Laws and Rules course. Submit proof of completion of a 2-hour Florida Laws and Rules course. Course must be delivered by a board-approved provider listed on CE Broker.
  6. Submit proof of current National Board for Certification in Hearing Instrument Sciences (HIS) certification. The applicant must contact the NBC-HIS and request they send proof of your current National Board Certification directly to the Board Office.
  7. Request License Certification or Verification (if applicable). Applicants who hold or have ever held a license in another state, U.S. territory, or foreign country; no matter the status are required to provide verification of licensure. A copy of the online verification is acceptable if current and provides disciplinary history status.
  8. Examination Eligibility Notification. Once the application is deemed complete, the applicant and the International Hearing Society (IHS) are notified that the candidate has become examination eligible. The candidate will receive registration information and instructions for the examination from IHS.
  9. Examination Completion: Once the applicant completes licensure examination, the results are provided within 2-4 weeks following the examination.
  10. Licensure Eligibility Notification: Upon receipt of successful examination completion, the Board office will notify the applicant of eligibility for licensure. The applicant will complete the Initial Licensure Application and submit the required fees. Once the licensure application and fee are received by the Board office, the licensee will be issued a license and mailed the approval letter and license within 7-10 business days.
  11. Applicants who do not successfully pass the examination will be notified.

Application by Re-examination

If you did not pass your most recent examination attempt, you are eligible to apply for re-examination. Please see the following steps below:

  1. Apply for licensure by re-examination. Applicant submits the Application for Licensure by Examination along with the appropriate licensure fees listed ($150) on the application instructions, pursuant to Rule 64B6-2.005, F.A.C. Please ensure that all fields are completed as instructed.
  2. After review, if the application is deemed complete, the applicant is notified in writing by the International Hearing Society (IHS) that the individual is an eligible examination candidate. The candidate will receive registration information and instructions for the examination from IHS.
  3. Applicant sits for licensure examination. Applicant will be notified within 2-4 weeks of their pass/fail status. Note: The Board office is not able to provide the applicant with his or her score or score report.
  4. Passing applicants will be notified of their eligibility for licensure and will be mailed the Initial Licensure Form which they will need to submit to the Board Office along with the licensure fee. Once the Board Office receives the licensure form and fee the licensee will be issued a license and mailed the approval letter and license within 7-10 business days.
  5. Failing applicants will be notified of their unsuccessful examination attempt and can apply for future examinations with the Board Office.

Licensure by Exam Fees:

Application Fee$150.00 (non-refundable)
Initial Licensure Fee:$320.00
Examination Fee:
(Paid directly to International Hearing Society once approved)
$225.00

Make checks or money orders payable to the “Department of Health.” Applicants and licensees are responsible for the fees outlined in applicable board or department rule at the time an application is received.

Click on Chapter or Section Number to View

Florida Statutes

You will be connected to the Florida Legislature website, which is the official custodian of the statutes. 

Chapter 484, Part II: Fitting and Dispensing of Hearing Aids
Chapter 456: Health Professions and Occupations: General Provisions
Chapter 120: Administrative Procedure Act

Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.)

You will be connected to the Florida Department of State: State Library and Archives of Florida website, which is the official custodian of the administrative codes.

Rules: Chapter 64B6: Board of Hearing Aid Specialists